Lucknow tops the new list of 13 cities for Smart City mission

The much awaited second list of the ambitious Smart City program was announced by Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday. The first three cities that topped the list are Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh), Warangal (Telangana) and Dharamshala (Himachal Pradesh).

13 cities are selected for the mission which also included Chandigarh, Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Panaji (Goa), Imphal (Manipur), Ranchi (Jharkhand), Agartala (Tripura), New Town Kolkata, Bhagalpur (Bihar), Port Blair (Andaman and Nicobar Islands) and Faridabad (Haryana).

These cities will receive an investment of Rs 30,229 crores in the next five years. The selection was made out of 23 cities with higher rankings that failed to get enlisted in the first list earlier in January.

10 cities failed to make the cut

Pasighat (Arunachal Pradesh), Shillong (Meghalaya), Namchi (Sikkim), Diu (Daman and Diu), Oulgaret (Puducherry), Kohima (Nagaland), Silvassa (Dadra and Nagar Haveli), Aizawl (Mizoram), Dehradun (Uttarakhand) and Kavaratti (Lakshadweep) failed to get enlisted in the second round of Smart City mission.

7 more cities for next round

A list of 27 more cities are expected to be announced in this year for Smart City mission and Centre has decided to participate seven more cities other than the 100 cities mentioned earlier for the next round of competition. This includes Patna (Bihar), Shimla (Himachal Pradesh), Naya Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh), Bengaluru (Karnataka) and Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala).

Major Highlights

  • Out of 13 cities, four cities belong to BJP ruled states (Goa, Jharkhand, Haryana & Chhattisgarh).
  • Two cities were selected from Himachal Pradesh and Manipur where Congress is in power.
  • Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh is ruled by Samajwadi Party and Bhagalpur belongs to Bihar where a coalition government of RJD, JD(U) and Congress are ruling power.
  • Warangal in Telangana is ruled by Telangana Rashtra Samithi.
  • Chandigarh and Port Blair are Union Territories.
  • Centre has also included Jammu and Srinagar to take part in the Smart City competition.
  • This year a total of 40 cities will be declared by the centre including the 13 selected on Tuesday.
  • The first list of 20 cities was announced earlier in January which received a total of Rs 50,560 crores as kitty pack for five years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *